Closing 2016

It’s been one hell of a year.

I feel like I am not the only person who can say this.

For some, it has been one of the greatest years of their life. Maybe they received a job promotion, got married, or had a baby. Maybe they have traveled or they have had something seemingly miraculous happen for them.

For others, maybe it has been a year they would like to forget. Maybe it has been one full of tragedy, heartbreak, confusion, and change. Maybe it has been a year they have more bad memories of than good ones.

But you know, for most of us it has probably been a mix of these extremes.

That’s the the category I fit into for sure. I am pretty positive by nature, so even though this year has been hard for me, I know it is one I have benefited from. I have traveled to a number of places within the 366 days (this year was leap year) of 2016. I have laughed into the late hours of the night with some of the best human souls, in my opinion, to walk this planet. I have loved greatly, and I have lost immensely. I have caused change and noise, and I have achieved a place of peace inside my own mind, which anyone who knows me knows that’s hard for me to do. I have had to make choices all of us have to make at some point but really don’t want to. I have had to be strong and keep putting one foot in front of the other even when all I wanted to do was curl up an cry.

Before you stop reading, this isn’t a pity party for my life, it is a real and genuine look at the life of someone who knows her life is not unlike the lives of many who may come across this post. We are all battling something.

Finally, I have come to the realization this year that Love is the single most complicated emotion/feeling/choice you will ever encounter, in all of its forms. Love can cause you to stay, and love can also cause you to go. Love can make you see that something isn’t right for you, even when you want it to be. Love can cause more change faster than anything else in this world. Love wants happiness and love wants peace. As well, “I love you” is not a phrase you should allow to just be said to you. You should be able to see “I love you” in what others do for you and with you.

Love can bring forgiveness. Love can push you forward. Love can unite you.

If I walk into 2017 with anything on my heart, it will be that Love, in it’s most raw,  genuine and flawed form, is the most beautiful thing that I have been given this year. The cool thing is, it wasn’t given to me from just one person. It was gifted to me from all of the people who have made it possible for me to be where I am today, and that’s a lot of people.

I was not left without Love in 2016. It was all around me, I just needed time to realize it.

A.D.

Leave a Reply

