{I’m not sure what to title this so I am taking up space}

There is so much going on in my head right now that I am honestly not sure what to title this blog post. Today I had an all around amazing day, reflecting on it, it is one of the best days I have had in a long time.

Today, I talked to multiple people about their passions in life, learned things about others, and went on an absolutely beautiful night hike with my two high school best friends.

You cannot ask for much more out of a day, at least in my opinion.

This whole day seemed to ignite something in me that I have been missing for a while now. It seemed to ignite my passion for other people. I really do believe that I have two main passions in life: writing and people.

Okay, I know what you’re thinking, how can people be a passion? That just sounds straight up creepy.

I believe that people are a passion of mine, because I love learning about them and from them. I love to sit and talk with people and learn about what they love, what they hate, what they have gone through, anything and everything about them they are willing to share with me. This includes new people that come into my life,and people that have been in my life for years.

Years ago, when I was in fourth grade and was taking basketball lessons from a former coach, he told me something that has stuck with me since then.

“A-Rock, remember that everyone in this world has the ability to teach you something.”

This includes, of course, people I don’t like as much as I like other people, and people that are very different from me.

I have a passion for people, I have a passion for serving others, that is the way that I find a lot of joy and purpose in life, and the way I find myself being hurt at times as well.

To me, it seems easy to be selfish. I am selfish in ways and I believe that is necessary to be somewhat selfish or you run yourself ragged. BUT being selfish and only being out for yourself must be so easy. You only have to worry about you. That must be nice.

I have come to the conclusion that I am going to work on being more selfish, but that it will be impossible for me to lose the way that I am. I’ll never lose my compelling nature to serve mankind around me. So, instead of hating that part of myself, I am going to embrace it. I will be hurt, because I will invest in those who will not invest in me. But, I will learn from that. I will experience so much now and later in my life. There is no reason for me to change the way that I am because embracing it will help me grow.

All I have to do is make sure that I am making decisions that make the most sense for my life. I have to make sure that I am doing what is right. I have to make sure that every night when I go to bed I feel like I truly lived that day, instead of just letting it pass me by without seizing a fraction of it. For I only have this one life, this one time to be young, and I have to make the best of it.

It is amazing to me that all of this personal thought and self growth can come out of one day. 24 hours. That just goes to show that life changes quick and that growth happens quick. Things can change in the blink of an eye.

“You gotta hold on tight and have a little faith, because this life is crazy and wasn’t built for the weak.”

AD.

Leave a Reply

