Why Letter Writing is Important.

Think about.

It’s 2016. All of us, no matter how much we try to say we don’t, appreciate technology. It brings us together, it allows us to capture beautiful moments and it vastly improves our lives each and every year.

However, this is not to say that all things of the past need to disappear. You need to be able to connect with people over more than just a cell phone or computer screen. You need to connect with them when you are sitting right in front of them.

You need to be able to read their facial expressions, participate in conversations, laugh, cry, speak eloquently, all of it.

Also, you need to be able to write.

This is one reason why letter writing is important.

Letter writing, of course, isn’t like academic writing, where everything has to be perfect, flow and have NO grammar/spelling mistakes.

Writing a letter is raw. In a letter, you can write whatever you want. You are able to put a blank piece of paper in front of you, grab a pen, and let your thoughts flow.

You can write about your day, your life, your friends, what you ate for dinner, the cool thing you did that day, ANYTHING. EVERYTHING.

Letter writing is special as well, because of the time it takes to start and finish a letter, which is more time than starting and finishing a text.

You have to think about what you want to say to the person you are writing the letter to before you start writing. You have to condense it, you have to phrase it just. You cannot just add emoji and think that they will understand how much you love them, how much you miss them, how much you care about them, etc. You HAVE to get that message across through words like “I’m proud of you”, “You’re the best!”, “I love you!”.

Writing a letter is “old fashioned” to some, but my belief is that it is timeless.

Letters should never stop being a way for people to express themselves. Communicating with others and showing them how much you care about them is important, and doing so through writing a letter will put a smile on a person’s face no matter what is going on in their life.

I know I myself am so thankful for the letters I have received from my sister, my boyfriend and my friends while I have been away at college. They have brightened my day and made me realize how lucky I am to have people in my life that will take time to write to me, no matter how busy they are. I love them all very much.

So remember: letter writing is important. It is like an art form, and it is one that should never go out of style.

AD.

 

Leave a Reply

